For example the Georgia World Congress Center Authority has a police department Could, for example, a county hospital authority establish a police department? good glad u cleared that up,but what does mutual aid mean and agreement mean sworn in multiple agencies. 226 Peachtree St SW. Atlanta, GA 30303. the State Border Defence Department became a reporting agency Ministry of Internal Affairs, and was reclassified as a law-enforcement agency in 2006. County) . It is inoperable. I believe there may be some confusion regarding federal causes of actions for violating civil rights. Peace officers In some places such as Fulton County, marshals are full-fledged peace officers with the power to enforce traffic laws and make arrest (substitute for constables as described above). A city police department could swear you in as an officer in their department. Looks like it was written in 2010 so its fairly new. Concerning the post about federal agencies, I am a former FBI Special Agent. Jurisdiction. I have attempted to get an explanation on this code section but no one seems to know. Under Mr. Rotondos interpretation, the residents of the municipality would have no police services whatsoever as the Sheriff would not be able to provide such services to citizens within his or her county. Either way, thank you for trying to keep me honest. to have law enforcement authoritiy. March 2023. I know that, in general, you know a lot more about such things than I do, or just about anyone else. I agree with your analysis of Zilke vs. State. . I guess my question to you is, why do you need to be deputized by a sheriff when the state gives you your arrest powers? The Court did not really address the fact that those campus police officers (officer under the University System may be different) also are not sworn officers, whether because there is no provision in the code for them to take oaths, or because, given that they have no legal duties (20-8-3), there wouldnt be much for them to swear